Skip to main content
Athletic Tickets Online

IHS is now selling Athletics Tickets through Ticket Roar. Tickets will be available for Independence Football, Volleyball, and Basketball

Online Tickets link
 

Games
Month
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
Month
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Athletics Locker

Athletics

Independence High School believes that a sports program can benefit high students in many ways that are valuable to both the student and to our society:

  • Develop scholarship, health, strength, agility, coordination skills, recreational interests, physical fitness and habits of clean living
  • Learn sportsmanship, fair play, honesty and respect for rules and authority
  • Develop qualities of cooperation, teamwork, competition, leadership, initiative, responsibility, subordination of self to the welfare of the team and school, self-respect, courtesy for others, perseverance and courage
  • Have fun with fellow students and visiting teams

All athletic registration must be done by the parent or  guardian online at www.AthleticClearance.com  Students will not be eligible for participation in any practices or try-outs until an account is created at www.AthleticClearance.com. See instructions for help or contact information. 

Fall Sports: The 2019-20 fall season starts August 9th

This means most teams will be selected before school starts. All potential athletes must be registered and cleared on www.AthleticClearance.com.  Physical form must be downloaded from AthleticClearance.com and taken to the physician to complete. 

Football try-outs start August 9th @ 3pm in the football stadium; contact Coach Avelar for more details. coachavelar2121@gmail.com

Girls Volleyball try-outs start August 9th @ 3:30-6pm; large gym. contact Coach Finney for more details: finneya@esuhsd.org 

Cross Country starts August 13th @ 3:30 at the football stadium; contact Coach Khoi khoitran.1@gmail.com

Girls Golf, contact Coach Yelverton yelvertond@esuhsd.org

Girls Tennis, contact Coach Dones Donesm@esuhsd.org

Any questions:  Athletic Director, Anne Finney 408 928-9621 or finneya@esuhsd.org

 

SPORTS

WINTER SPORTS:

Boys & Girls Basketball 

Boys Varsity Coach: Skip Yenchik  yenchiks@esushd.org

Boys F/S Coachz:  RayJay Peralta rayjayperalta@yahoo.com

Girls Varsity Coach:  Fred Yepez fy729@yahoo.com

Girls JV Coach:  Victor Garcia . coachvgarcia@yahoo.com

 

Boys & Girls Soccer

Boys Varsity Coach:  Miguel Botto Coachmiguel16@gmail.com

Boys JV Coach:  Alex Ramirez   Ramirez.alexander92@yahoo.com

Girls Varsity Coach:  Madison Kimball kimballm@esuhsd.org

Girls JV Coach:  Abigail Carson carsona@esuhsd.org

 

Boys & Girls Wrestling

Varsity Coach Dean Nguyen  nguyend@esuhsd.org

Asst. Coach  Duy Tran duytran@gmail.com

 

SPRING SPORTS

Boys & Girls Badminton

Boys Coach  Alan Trinh  atrinh1219@gmail.com

Girls Coach Mike Do  sjsharks429@gmail.com

 

Baseball

Varsity Coach  Keith Allen superspartan83@yahoo.com

JV Coach  Noah Gear

Boys Golf Coach Randy Bartholomew bartholomewr@esuhsd.org

 

Softball

Varsity Coach Felipe Avelar   coachavelar2121@gmail.com

JV Coach   Abigail Carson   carsona@esuhsd.org

Boys & Girls Swimming

Boys Coach Natalie Nguyen   NguyenNatalie94@yahoo.com

Girls Coach Corrie Howard  howardco@esuhsd.org

Boys Tennis Coach Maria Dones   donesm@esuhsd.org

 

Boys & Girls Track

Boys Head Coach  Thompson Ly   Lyt@esuhsd.org

Boys Asst.  Coach  Khoi Tran   khoitran.1@gmail.com

Girls Head Coach    Maryann Freitas   M.Freitasd7@gmail.com

Girls Asst. Coach   Ruth Le Beau  ruthannlebeau@gmail.com

 

Boys Volleyball

Varsity Coach  Anne Finney  finneya@esuhsd.org

JV Coach  Thuy Huynh . hunyhtt@esuhsd.org